Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

And the winner is…Me!

Yes, I know.  It may not be subtle or modest, but I just have to shout it out that someone awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award a few days ago and I couldn’t be happier!  Who is this award bearer, you ask?  Well, her name is Lian and you can find her at her rather cheery site liannouwen Thanks, Lian!  Love your site, too!

Here are the responsibilities I must now carry forward as new recipient of this award:

1.  Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.

2. Tell 7 random facts about yourself.

3. Pass the award on to 15 new-found bloggers.

4. Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it … or not.

You may follow of modify the rules.

So, here is my response to #2:

1. I love anything that has to do with lemons.  I can’t get enough of that tangy, citrusy flavor in cookies, frosting, cake, pies, on vegetables, in soups, on chicken (baked or grilled), etc.  The smell is  great and makes me feel invigorated.  I use to have a lemon body spray when I was 14 that I wore every chance I got, I loved it that much.  My mom would make lemon meringue pie because she knew I loved lemons so much.  Homemade lemonade is the best!  Lemon in iced tea … I could go on and on and …

2. I have this thing where even though I am dead-dog tired, I will stay up late at night anyway, till I can barely stand it before I will finally go to sleep.  I think it started when I was in the middle of young motherhood and I just wanted some time to myself where  no one was asking me for “this” or “that” or to “come to bed, honey” or did I pick up toothpaste at the store or did I remember  to fill out the permission slips for the kid’s field trips or could I, please, drive on the field trip or what’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner?! 

Now, I just like to listen to the hum of my sewing machine in the late night/early morning hours when no one else is awake.  Or watch old reruns of ER because I never got to see it when it originally came on because I was too busy doing the mom/wife thing.  Or  play mahjong or solitaire on my PC.  Or find an old movie to watch while snuggling in my blankets with only the glow from my monitor shining in my bedroom.  Who says being single is lonely?  It’s a relief, is what it is!

3. I could write forever.  Once I get going, I just let it all out.  I constantly have to reduce, reduce, reduce because writing is so therapeutic for me.  It provides me with a way to purge everything in my head to a place that may or may not make sense to anyone else.  I mostly keep it personal, so I have to edit what I write on my blog A WHOLE LOT!  Otherwise, everyone would know every little part of my soul and I would no longer be “mysterious” to any man or creature. :)

4. I daydream about winning the lottery and talking all my women friends on a vacation to a tropical island where we could laugh, talk, party, hangout, be ourselves, not wear make-up, not worry about weight and what men think of us, eat whatever and whenever we wanted,  buy any kind of shoes we wanted –whether we need them or not– and have handsome, well-built men wait on us hand and foot!

5.  I daydream about winning the lottery (yes, I have this daydream A LOT) and taking my two wonderful (I think they’re wonderful, anyway–this week, but ask me again in a couple of days) teenagers on a vacation to some place where we could have the best fun and family time with just the three of us.  Everyone would have a good time.  We would all do whatever we wanted and there would be something for all of us to enjoy.   We would come home feeling refreshed and relaxed!

6. I love to laugh.  And I think any man who can make me laugh is sexy.  To me, when a man can make you so comfortable with laughing (with him, at him, either way) that you do it freely in front of him (you know, the whole “mouth wide-open”  kind of laugh), then you know he will accept you just as you are.  And, that’s sexy. 

7. I’m still scared of the dark.

Now for #3:

playerpianosara

Road to Joy

 Jenny Bean’s Blog

Ramblings

Play 101

Matt Posky

Notes From Rumbly Cottage

Created Today

Mark Armstrong Illustration

Jumping In Mud Puddles

The Real Full House

Meanwhile, back at the ranch…

Leah’s Thoughts

Crustabakes

Handmade by Anne Potter

Once again, I’d like to say thank you to Lian at liannouwen for awarding me.  Please, visit her site as well as the others on my list and see why they are so deserving of this award.  I think this is a great idea and a good way to find out about other blogs, make new friends, and help each other become known! 

 

 

 

20 responses

  1. I am sometimes afraid of the dark too depending on if I just watched a scary movie in the last few days or not.

    March 28, 2011 at 7:38 am

    • That is exactly why I am still afraid of the dark — and why I no longer watch scary movies!

      March 28, 2011 at 9:00 am

  2. Thank you thank you! I’m so pleased you thought of me!

    About your number 1 item – I LOVE lemons. It’s been something I’ve discovered in the past year, but I don’t know how I haven’t loved them my whole life. I want lemon everything. It wasn’t that I didn’t like them, I just didn’t notice them much.

    I also dream of the lottery :(

    March 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

    • Well, silly! Of course, I thought of you. You make me smile!

      March 28, 2011 at 3:48 pm

  3. Lol…nice award

    March 28, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    • Yes, I had to make up the graphic because there was not an official one, I don’t think. Let’s all just make awards for ourselves! How fun would that be?!

      March 28, 2011 at 3:50 pm

  4. I am scared of the dark too. :)

    March 29, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • …and we call ourselves “adults!” What is wrong with us? :o

      March 29, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  5. I also love lemons. Interestingly I am not afraid of the dark anymore.

    March 29, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • Just the word “lemons” makes my mouth water! My house is never completely dark (even in case of power outage, my flashlights are ALWAYS close at hand) because I leave little night lights and low-level lamps on.

      March 29, 2011 at 12:11 pm

  6. I like to eat lemon meringue pie while I’m watching old movies. And if there’s nuthin’ good on, I play my favorite CD: The Best Of Sewing Machine Sounds… : )

    Thanks for the nod, but nobody’s more versatile when it comes to versatility than you. : )

    March 29, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    • You are just too funny! No, you are just “the right amount” of funny, actually. :)

      “CD:The Best of Sewing Machine Sounds…” Priceless!

      March 29, 2011 at 9:48 pm

  7. Congratulations on your award! It is well deserved; your writing is thought provoking, and your pictures,lovely.

    Thank you so much for passing the award on to me. I tripped over here to the red carpet on 6 inch heels to accept, dripping in borrowed jewels, boobs glued into my plunging designer gown. I have my speech all written out – 20 minutes of rambling interspersed with some “accidental” expletives – but I see there are other requirements for acceptance. I will get to those as soon as the train-wreck that is my life right now sorts itself out.

    Congrats again!

    March 30, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    • You look simply divine, my dear! I was almost blinded by those “jewels” of yours. And your necklace and earrings aren’t bad either! (said in the tone of Groucho Marx, cigar in hand, bushy eyebrows twitching)

      As the rules state, you may “follow or modify” the rules. You can grab that image for your own, too. Just click on it and it will go to another page which you can save (right-click) to your desktop and use.

      Hope all is going well. I’ll keep you all in my prayers!

      March 30, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  8. Thank you so much for passing this award on to me! What a fun award. I loved your #6. I totally agree. My husband is the funniest man I know, and that’s a huge reason why I love him. He just sees the world a little differently than most, and really knows how to bring out my smile. (I wrote a post about it once, how I was having a bad day, and he came over and started rubbing a bag of chocolate on my back. Like it was an icepack.) Anyway, thanks again, and it was fun to read your answers. Now you’ve got me wanting some kind of lemony-dessert…

    March 31, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    • Yes, I did remember that post of yours, and it was hilarious! I found your blog through Freshly Pressed (which is why I love that feature about WordPress) and was an instant fan. You’ve got such a great sense of humor and I enjoy the way you tell your story. Can’t wait to read your 7 random characteristics!

      March 31, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  9. crustabakes

    Hi Rita,
    Thanks so much for passing the award to me. I can’t be more than honoured! I compile my list of 15 and pass it along. Thanks so much again!

    April 3, 2011 at 12:35 am

    • Your welcome! You have one of the cutest sites I have ever seen. It makes me happy to look at your site and all the delightful goodies you make and share!

      April 3, 2011 at 4:42 pm

  10. Danny Tanner

    I am glad to know that someone else stays up late when they are dog tired and know they should be sleeping. I don’t know why I do it – maybe the same reason as you – but I stay up and write or read or watch TV until I can hardly move. And then I’m exhausted – ALL THE TIME!

    Congrats on the award!

    April 3, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    • It must be a parent thing. It’s crazy, I know, and some days I do better than others. Then I have to remind myself that in order to be a good parent for my kids, I need to get myself to bed at a decent hour. So, I’ll do good for a while. But, mostly, I just feel overwhelmed, like I have so much to get done and, yet, still need my alone time.

      April 3, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers