Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Solitude, once again.

Ah…the start of the school year has begun.  How do I know this?  Well, because my own children have started their High School and College school year.                 …and because I have the park all to myself again.  

That’s right, no more screaming and splashing sounds from the swimming pool during the early morning.  No more dodging kids on bikes as I make my way around the park for the second time.  And no more mothers gathered at the swing sets in groups of two and threes while their small children run up and down the slides and throw sand at each other in the sand box.

Don’t get me wrong, I love kids.  And there are times when all that noise and activity is comforting.  It lets you know there is life going on all around you every day no matter what your day has been like. 

But, there are just times when I like to walk alone through the park and enjoy the solitude and peace that lies there in the midst of all the trees and grass, under the blue sky with the sun shining down on me. 

My park is close to the house where I grew up, within walking distance.  I still live near the same neighborhood, and I love walking through the park at any time of the year.  There are lots of beautiful trees to look at as you walk along, big and tall, that provide a break from the sun as you meander your way around the area. 

There’s also plenty of park benches for you to stop and sit a while, taking in all the fresh air and sun,  or watch the senior citizens playing a game of tennis, or the kid on his skateboard who looks like he probably learned to skateboard before he learned to walk…

or the guy who brings his dog to play frisbee for the exercise…

or the kids trying to get in one last game of ball the day before school starts.

All I know is I am so glad to have such a beautiful park near to where I live that I can go to anytime I want to spend some time outdoors, walk for exercise, to sit and enjoy when I just want to think and feel alive, and to just have some solitude.  Thank goodness for school!

3 responses

  1. Aren’t places like that the best? Great post. Fall is my favorite time of year for this reason and more. 🙂

    August 23, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  2. These are such beautiful pictures! The light is especially gorgeous at this time of day.

    – Halie

    August 25, 2010 at 11:16 am

    • Yes, it’s when I try to do my walking. I like the late afternoon walking more in the fall. I will be getting some pictures of that, too, believe me!

      August 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

