Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Oh, how I love my beads…

I absolutely love beads.  I like shopping for them (I have been known to drive quite a distance just to shop for beads.  Once, I made a friend of mine drive an hour-and-half away from her home near Dallas so we could find this bead shop and purchase some beads.  We ended up getting taken to lunch by the owner.  He bought our lunch and we sat and talked with him and had a very pleasant afternoon–so it was well worth it!), I like making things with them, I like having them around just to look at. 

It must be all those colors and shapes.  I have tons of them, too.  It’s an addiction.  Truly.

I have made all kinds of bracelets and earrings with them. 

Bracelets are pretty easy to make.  You can use wire or the stretchy cord.  You can bead tiny little beads, or the big chunky ones.

The great thing about making your own jewelry is that you can coordinate with your wardrobe and style. 

All it takes is a little creativity. 

You can keep your beads in any kind of container that works for you.  I have purchased bead holders like the plastic containers at the top.  But I also have used anything from baggies to baby food jars. 

Whatever works for you.  Making a bracelet is a good way to get in a quick, creative fix and have something nice to wear, too!

11 responses

  1. Lovely photos! I used to collect beads – not too many, but I loved making necklaces and finding cool center beads at flea markets. I love using little corked glass bottles to hold them — that way you can display them! So pretty. I usually keep my findings in one of those little clear plastic boxes with the compartments.

    – Halie

    August 25, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    • I do like the way they look in my baby food jars on the shelf. I can see exactly what I want that way. And, yes, they are pretty, too!

      August 27, 2010 at 9:07 am

  2. Your photos are great. I’m a bead lover too. Great site!!!

    August 27, 2010 at 8:32 am

  3. I used to make lots of my own beads, now I just have a few kits lying in the cupboard and loads of necklaces and bracelets lying around the place. I should really wear more of them, since they brighten up any outfit!

    August 27, 2010 at 8:59 am

    • I have at least one bracelet on most of the time. I’ve made some that have the tiny seed beads on and wear two or three of those together when I just want a little “something” and I’m dressed very casual.

      August 27, 2010 at 9:05 am

  4. I love the bead bracelets. Beautiful.

    September 2, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    • Thanks. I get a wild hair to make something and start pulling my beads out. I try to make a few up at a time because I have so many beads to choose from and usually have them spread everywhere on the dining room table. Once I put them up, I don’t want to have to take them all out again for a few weeks.

      September 3, 2010 at 4:56 pm

  5. Nice beads! My wife is beading, it her hobby. Is beading Yours?

    I got some photos from her beads.

    Happy beading!

    December 7, 2010 at 9:41 am

    • Yes, it is one of my MANY hobbies. I love the colors and the way the light plays on them. I visited your blog and loved your images. Thanks for visiting here!

      December 7, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  6. I love your beads, too! What IS it about beads anyway?! I think you’re right: intoxicating colors. I love your blog: it’s so inspiring to peek into other crafters’ creative world.

    January 7, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

