Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

A Walk in Summer

I took a walk along a nature trail.  The sun was high and the temperature was warm.  After walking alone for a while, I began to feel as though I was being led  into a whole nother world…so I followed.

Where the road would lead, I wasn’t sure.  So I just walked, curious as to what I would find.

There were tall grasses and small ponds.

A curved road said to keep going.

As I rounded the corner, I saw a broken tree and a bridge.

I came to the front of the bridge and stopped.  Where was it taking me?  What would I see when I got to the other side?

I started to cross over the bridge, when I heard a noise coming from the water below me.  I peered over the edge and saw…

 I spotted the one that had just splashed into the water as he went below the surface.  I watched these two for a moment, and then continued on.  When I got to the other side of the bridge, I stood still and quiet, and looked.

Being alone in a space like that stills you and causes you to slow down, no matter what you were feeling an hour or more ago. It relaxes you and makes you pause to be in the moment–you have no choice.  The simple beauty is overwhelming. 

I started to walk around the path led by the curve of the water and came across more color in the form of flowers and leaves and shadows.

I got to the other side and looked across.  A different view…

I headed back around and was halted time and time again by the beauty of nature and the colorful shows it was presenting me.

I’m going back soon…and next time, I’m staying longer.

10 responses

  1. Amazing pics maam.. Keep up the good work.. Cheers, Addy

    September 22, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    • Thank you. Will do!

      September 24, 2010 at 11:54 am

  2. lovely trail 🙂

    September 24, 2010 at 11:12 am

  3. Becci

    Beautiful pictures! Are you in Kansas?

    Becci in Kansas

    September 24, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    • Yes! Glad you like the pics.

      September 24, 2010 at 12:29 pm

  4. Wow. Your blog is absolutely beautiful. I seriously love your photography, and as you can tell from my blog I’m a fan of dark layouts.

    It’s getting late in England right now, but I plan to look through your blog even more and likely add it to my link list if that’s OK by you!

    Also, I’m very glad you liked my post and hope you’ll visit again soon!

    Sara

    September 26, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    • Thank you, so much! I did have it on a white layout before and I really liked it. But now that it’s fall, I thought I needed a change. Besides, the dark layout really makes photos “pop” more.

      Please, do feel free to link me. That’s really nice. And, believe me, I will be checking out your blog regularly, too. I love people that have a great sense of humor and that can express themselves well with their writing!

      September 26, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  5. I’m just so in love with your photography. Gorgeous work, Rita!

    September 27, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    • You are not only funny, but sweet. Thanks, so much, lady.

      September 27, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Leave a Reply

