Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Look Up In The Sky…

It’s a bird, it’s a plane… Yeah, no, it really is a plane.  Or should I say “planes.”  This past weekend I took my family to see the airshow that was going on at the military base.  Only we couldn’t get in, even though we thought we were getting there early.  The line to get in the gate was 2 hrs. long, I heard someone say.  The roads were backed up like nobody’s business.  So, rather than waste my precious gas sitting in a line of cars waiting for my turn to scramble for a parking stall in the lot and then a seat (which we were sure NOT to find at that point, and we forgot the lawn chairs anyway), we turned around and headed for a vacant lot behind the base where we could park our vehicle and plant ourselves for the show.

We hadn’t been in about three or four years, and we usually just go to a park close by and sit and watch outside our car.  This year, I wanted to get up super early (HA!) and make sure we headed out soon enough to be able to get inside.  Apparently, we didn’t get up early enough.  (Surprise, surprise!)  At least we were smart enough to pack some water and a few snacks to last through most of the show.  The weather was GORGEOUS!  The sky was so blue.  But, then, toward the end of the show, a cold front came through and the sky went dark grey.  So, they had to cancel the Thunderbirds–which is the whole reason I like to go in the first place!  It started to rain and the kids and I headed to a local hamburger joint down the road and ate a very late lunch.

They may have rescheduled the Thunderbirds for the very next day, since it was a two-day show.  But it wouldn’t really matter because we couldn’t get back the next day to see them.  It was cold and grey again the next day.  By the middle of the afternoon, the sky cleared and the sun came out.  Another beautiful afternoon. 

Later that afternoon, while I was running errands with my daughter, we were at the mall when I heard what I’m sure was the Thunderbirds go overhead.  I was heartbroken I had to miss them.  I really look forward to seeing them.  Oh, well, there’s always next year.  It was good to get outside with the kids, who are older teenagers and don’t really spend as much time with me as they use to so I really enjoyed our afternoon.

Here are the pics I took.  Enjoy!

 

 

7 responses

  1. My gosh, you are a FANTASTIC photographer!

    September 27, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    • Makes me feel like the money I spent on a new lens was worth it afterall!

      September 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

  2. awesome shots!
    the hand behind the camera
    is really good or is it the eyes?
    🙂

    October 4, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    • Thanks! I believe it is a little of both. Eyes, first. Because sometimes, I have to shoot more than once to get less shake or blurriness since I don’t use a tripod.

      October 5, 2010 at 2:28 am

  3. Very cool pictures!

    Wishing you success and the best days.

    October 10, 2010 at 8:59 am

  4. Great shots!!

    November 12, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    • Thanks. I checked out your site and you got the pics of the ones I didn’t get, but wanted–The Thunderbirds!

      November 13, 2010 at 1:48 am

Leave a Reply

