Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Moving Through Life.

The weather has started getting colder where I live. Temperature drops into the 40’s nightly. Blankets get pulled a little tighter at night. Homemade soups starts sounding good for supper.

I’ve been watching the trees closely.  I’m wanting to make sure I capture those colorful leaves as they turn for fall.  It’s my favorite time of year, and I look forward to so many things about it. 

I especially like the way it makes me want to slow down and cozy up at home.  I probably watch the most T.V. during this time of year–which isn’t much for someone who is not all that keen on T.V. time.  But I like curling up on the couch with a blanket on a Saturday afternoon and finding a good movie that I can escape into till I doze off while the warm sun casts a glow through my living room window. 

There’s also Halloween.  I was never big into “scary” and still am not, but there is one seasonal activity I enjoy.  On Halloween night, there is a neighborhood close to where I grew up and went to school that does Halloween better than anybody I know or anything I have ever seen.  They go all out and decorate to all kinds of levels.  It’s a whole show, really.  Several blocks participate and it’s so much fun to walk the streets along with all the other people who attend.  I have some pics from last year that I’ll try to put up before Halloween.  Looking forward to that. 

Parking is crazy, but it’s so worth it.  We always park several blocks away, having learned from experience that it’s not worth the trouble of worrying about whether or not you’re going to hit a small child crossing the street or getting stuck in the jam that always happens as you are trying to leave the area. 

And let’s not forget Thanksgiving will be coming next month.  I live for this holiday!  It is my favorite holiday of all.  Not just because of the food, but because my children help prepare the food with me and we get to spend so much time together talking and laughing and just being together.  It’s definitely a great time for our little family. 

Schools in full swing now.  Conferences have happened and talks have been given.  Everybody does their evening homework while waiting for supper and the smells waft through the house. 

Walks outdoors are more enjoyable when the weather has cooled down from the hot summer days of a few weeks ago.  Drives in the afternoon make me sleepy and calm when the windows are rolled down and the air blows through my hair.  Dogs and kids have their heads stuck out the car windows as their owners and parents drive by me.  I want to do the same. 

Needing to get outside in the backyard and start cleaning up plants and vines so it won’t be so hard to get the yard ready for the cold weather.  So many trees that will scatter their leaves all in my yard making a full-days work, sometimes two, of raking and bagging.  Always have to be quick about getting that chore done or the days will get too cold to want to be outside working.  Runny noses and gloves are not fun to try to deal with when you’re working. 

Hoodies are the main attire around the house and to the grocery store.  Sweatshirts with school logos are being pulled out of drawers.  Slipper socks and house slippers take the place of flip-flops. 

Fall may have just begun, but around here we are welcoming it in like an old friend that we’ve waited all summer to see.  And we’re hoping it can stay a while so we can enjoy its company. 

This familiar time of the year when the seasons change always make me more contemplative of life and all that goes on around me. I feel especially so now that one of my sisters has just come out of a fairly easy surgery and my father’s health seems to be getting worse.  I wonder what lies ahead for me as the weeks go by, with my work and with my personal life.  My thoughts are disconnected sometimes, and run through my head constantly as I try to take some time to do nothing but walk and enjoy the day.  Because I don’t want to linger on anything too long if it’s even got the possibility of being slightly negative and to take me away from the time of the year I love the most. 

It’s just life stuff, anyway.  And all I can do is keep moving through it as it happens. 

The sun is making leaf shadows on my curtain.  It’s doing that flickering dance it does when the wind is blowing and moving them all around on the branches.  Sometimes, in the sun, they look like shimmering jewels.

4 responses

  1. I would come to your blog just to see your photography. You see the world through beautiful eyes. 🙂

    October 5, 2010 at 8:29 am

    • You may come here anytime you like. I give thanks to God for my eyesight on a regular basis, believe me, and then for the things he has created for me to see. I’m glad I can share my view of my little world with others!

      October 5, 2010 at 5:13 pm

  2. Your pictures were great in this post, both the jpegs and the mental images you evoked. I love fall too. It’s invigorating.

    Jenny

    P.S. My friend crocheted Jax’s blanket.

    October 8, 2010 at 9:08 am

    • Thanks, Jenny. I am going to get some good pics when the leaves turn. Can’t wait. I know just where I’m going to go to get them, too!

      I use to crochet a lot when I first learned, about 20 years ago. Recently, since last fall, I have gotten back into it. I really missed it! I have been making blankets, hats, and am attempting sweaters for my first time. I find it a great stress reliever. Will put some pics up soon of some of my creations. I have some images of baby things I made on my Creative page. I want to get an Etsy shop and sell some of them. Otherwise, I can’t justify all the yarn I continually buy! 🙂

      October 8, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

