Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

It’s almost time…!

Yes, kids.  It’s almost Halloween.  Time for scary movies, too much candy, and homemade costumes.  Now, I don’t care much for scary movies.  (They give me the heeby-geebies way longer than they should, so I just gave them up completely.) But I do like the candy, Candy Corn being my favorite. (Read about the History of Candy Corn here, http://blurts.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/cultivating-candy-corn-your-questions-answered/) And I’ve made my share of homemade costumes from Vampira, for myself, to Jasmine (from Aladdin) to a Power Ranger for my daughter and son when they were little.

I use to love Halloween when I was a kid.  That’s before the costumes got all gory and terrifying.  Back then, we were things like princesses and ballerinas, and cowboys and firemen.  True, not very scary, but they were still things we wanted to be if we could in our make-believe kid world.  When it started getting all creepy and gory, that’s when I really kind of backed away from it and only took my kids to a few houses.  Then we would just go back home and have our own Halloween party with cupcakes and Charlie Brown’s The Great Pumpkin movie. 

Then, something wonderful started happening in a nearby neighborhood.  People were decorating their houses with bigger than life yard props.  It started with things like a giant crescent moon with a witch sitting on it on the second story of a house, a spotlight shinning to accent it.  Or a freakishly large spider along the side of a house with a giant spider web.  People would notice these great props and started cruising by on the nights before Halloween just to see them. 

Over the years, it has progressed into a major function that people all over the city look forward to attending.  First of all, for the kids, they give out the best candy!  Then, for the adults as well as the kids are the unbelievable sights that you will encounter as you now can walk about in  a 2 block area and a couple of side streets and see all kinds of outlandish decorations and creations and smoke machines  and monsters and ghosts and giant spiders and coffins that rise up from the ground as music on loudspeakers play and 25 foot creatures walk about (a man with wooden sticks controls him from underneath the creature’s cape) and so much more!!!  There are so many people who attend that they now hire out security for the night.  Last year, they had 7 off duty police patrol the area.  As far as I know, they have never had any trouble.  But it’s nice to know the area is patrolled so that we can all enjoy the effort these people go through to make the night the best time a family can have during the Halloween season.

I really look forward to it because I can, once again, enjoy Halloween like I use to when I was a kid. So, thank you, College Hill residents, for all the work you do to make the night enjoyable for all of us who attend.  You do a great job every year, and I so look forward to the good time I get to spend with my older teenagers who I have been taking since they were in grade school. 

These pics are from last year.  Can’t wait to take some new ones from this year!

P.S.  Sorry about the blurriness of some of these.  There is a large crowd and I sometimes have to shoot fast and move on. 

THIS HOUSE HAD A GIANT SCREEN T.V. IN THE FRONT YARD PLAYING MICHAEL JACKSON’S THRILLER MUSIC VIDEO ALL NIGHT!

THESE NEXT FOUR ARE FROM THE SAME HOUSE.  THEY GO ALL OUT!  I HAD A BLURRY PIC OF THE OTHER SIDE WHERE THEY HAVE A MAN DRESSED IN BLACK PLAYING AN ORGAN (FOR REAL!) AND A MAKESHIFT CEMETARY WITH A BLACK WROUGHT IRON FENCE.  IT’S AWESOME!

 

 THIS WAS JUST ONE OF THE MANY HOUSES THAT PARTICIPATED WITH DECORATING THEIR YARD AND PORCH FOR ALL THE PEOPLE TO ENJOY.

THE NEXT FIVE ARE FROM SAME HOUSE.  THEY ALSO HAVE THE GIANT CREATURE IN BLACK WALKING ABOUT.  PIC WASN’T VERY GOOD, THOUGH.

THE FOLLOWING THREE ARE FROM SAME HOUSE.  THEY HAD SOME GREAT SCARY MUSIC ON LOUDSPEAKERS PLAYING.  YOU COULD HEAR IT DOWN FROM THE NEXT BLOCK OVER!  THE GHOSTS IN THE TREE DANCED AROUND.  THE PUMPKIN HEAD GUY WOULD RISE UP AND DOWN FROM THE GROUND, TOO.  SUCH A GOOD SHOW!

THESE NEXT TWO MAY NOT BE THAT SCARY TO YOU, BUT IT WAS SO DARK AT THIS HOUSE EXCEPT FOR THE CAT EYES ON THE UPPER FLOOR AND THE GREEN LIGHTS GLOWING ON THE GROUND. THAT GHOST WAS ON SOME KIND OF REVOLVING WIRE AND WOULD FLY ALL THE WAY OUT TO THE SIDEWALK, AROUND THE YARD, AND ACROSS THE PORCH OF THE HOUSE!  EVERYTHING GLOWED!

THIS ONE REMINDED ME OF A CHRISTMAS-SORT-OF-HALLOWEEN WITH ALL THOSE LIGHTS!  IT WAS KIND OF “PRETTY” SPOOKY.

THEY HAD A SORT OF “PIRATES OF THE CARRIBEAN” THING GOING ON HERE. 

THESE WERE SOME CREEPY OLD DUDES STILL CRANKIN’ OUT THE ROCK-N-ROLL.  REMIND YOU OF ANYONE?

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A VERY FUN AND SAFE HALLOWEEN THIS YEAR!

18 responses

  1. Wow, this is for one night? Amazing. I’ve seen areas that did this for Christmas, but that allows them to do it for a few weeks in advance.

    October 11, 2010 at 5:27 am

    • Yes, for one night! They don’t even put everything up until the night before (sometimes two). It’s so great!

      October 11, 2010 at 7:42 am

  2. Really fun!! I’m very much missing October in the USA. Brits don’t get into Halloween/fall too much. I live in the big city so like you I’m watching every day for signs of change on the few leaves I see! This means it will be time to venture to one of the little-known parks outside the main part of the city and hopefully see some nice fall colors.

    I hope you’ll have a lot more fall posts/pictures!

    October 11, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    • I have been looking forward to the fall and so glad it’s here. Yes, I will take more pics, just waiting for the trees to burst out in color. I saw some today that were turning red already. And the wind is blowing them around in little sprinklings lately. It won’t be long…

      October 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm

  3. Also, I forgot to say that I totally love The Great Pumpkin. I always used to watch Garfield’s Halloween, too. I was so scared by that when I was little!

    October 11, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  4. Fantastic photos! Now I’m getting all excited about Halloween. How do you decorate a condo without scaring the neighbors? 😉

    October 12, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    • Are you kidding?! Scaring the neighbors would be half the fun! Why miss out on that? Go for it and express your inner kid!

      Thanks for taking a peek here!

      October 12, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  5. Wow! What is christmas like around there?

    October 12, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    • Oh, don’t even get me started yet on that! Lights that criss-cross from one side of the street to the other for two whole blocks!! I’ll make sure to get some beautiful pics of those, too. Keep checking back!

      Thanks for stopping and hope you enjoyed yourself!

      October 12, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  6. Great photos. I’ve been to “Haunted Houses” that are lower budget than these. Very cool.

    October 13, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    • It’s even better in person! Happy to share these with you.

      October 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm

  7. your new banner is pretty blood thirsty
    like it!
    🙂

    October 14, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    • Yes, even for me who doesn’t like “scary” all that much. But it’s not as scary if I am in charge of it, you know? It was fun to do, and it will be changed after Halloween. Glad you approve! Nice to see you again.

      October 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm

  8. Hi Rita!

    I don’t care for Candy Corn, but I LOVE your pictures, they’re terrific!
    This celebration looks incredible and like so much fun. I love it when a community really gets into a holiday and does it up in a BIG way. It’s so creative and fun. Thanks for sharing!

    October 16, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    • Hi, Tisha! So glad you came over for a look! Please, come by anytime. I visited your blog and I am definitely going to look some more because I think you have some things I might be able to benefit from. I am still pretty new to blogging (about 6 months or so), but I am having so much fun with it and want to continue forever! I love looking at other people’s blogs and what they are doing.

      October 17, 2010 at 12:14 am

  9. Elizabeth

    I love candy corn, the amazing decorations and your blog! Thanks so much for stopping by mine today. Liz

    October 18, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    • Your so welcome! Your post was informative and interesting. I appreciate the info. Come back anytime.

      October 18, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  10. Rhoda

    wow really put a smile on my face with this!:) I too love holloween/fall season. I wish I lived in your town.Thanks for the post.

    October 27, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Leave a Reply

