Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Looking In From the Outside

My daughter had a night lecture she had to attend on campus, and I offered to take her and wait while she was inside.  She didn’t think it was going to be too long, so I didn’t mind waiting.  I took my camera along, always hoping for an opportunity to learn new things about how to shoot in different situations. 

I know that for most night shots that you really need a tripod because of the low light.  I just haven’t broken down and purchased one yet, so I do the best I can with just hand-holding my camera.  I’ll try to steady myself against a wall or something.  Although, it was so windy that night that I could feel the lamp posts swaying as I tried to steady my back against them. 

Anyway, these are the shots I took. 

One thing I did notice was how many females were sitting close to the windows in direct view of anyone from the outside.  I don’t try to be a worrier–unnecessarily.  However, the fact that I was able to observe and even take photos of them got me to thinking that it would be so easy for some “creeper” (as my daughter calls them) to watch an unsuspecting person’s moves and habits.  I am going to show these to my daughter and let her know to pick a seat toward the interior of the building if she has to do any late night studying–and always go with a buddy!

10 responses

  1. The Content Guy

    Hi, felt that these are pretty good record shots and given the fact you hand-held it, it came out well.

    And yes, do remind your daughter to take a seat away from the windows if possible.

    November 9, 2010 at 3:22 am

    • Thanks for the compliment. I try to learn something new all the time. Practice makes perfect, right?

      November 9, 2010 at 4:05 am

  2. Teri

    These are really cool photos – you have a great eye. Thanks for sharing them.
    By the way…I had a “peeping tom” when I was in high school! (I had a bad habit of not closing blinds…another story.) These photos would have been a good learning tool for me!

    November 10, 2010 at 9:15 am

    • Thanks, for the compliment. Me, too, with the “peeping Tom” thing. We’ll have to swap stories some time!

      November 10, 2010 at 5:52 pm

  3. I’m so glad you visited my blog tonight, because it reminded me to add you to my RSS feed. Great shots. My immediate reaction was, maybe b/c I’d been reading Stephen King, that the females by the window were vulnerable! The pictures are amazing. Like cutaway movie sets.

    November 10, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    • I’m glad I visited your site, too!

      November 10, 2010 at 11:43 pm

  4. “Privacy” is really something that everyone battles to protect! Amazing shots yet again!!

    Best Wishes, Addy

    November 12, 2010 at 12:04 am

    • Yes, it can be really creepy to think about how no matter where we are, anyone could be watching our every move at any given moment. P.S. Was just thinking about heading to your site yesterday to check out what you’ve been up to. Will do that now!

      November 12, 2010 at 2:53 am

  5. Wow, you do a great job steadying yourself. These are great. I always get shutter shake at night.

    Cheers!

    November 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    • Well, you didn’t see how many I had to trash! That’s just how it goes, I guess.

      November 16, 2010 at 4:24 am

Leave a Reply

