Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

‘Tis the Gift to Be Simple

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free,

‘Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,

And when we find ourselves in the place just right,

‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.

When true simplicity is gain’d,

To bow and to bend we shan’t be asham’d,

To turn, turn will be our delight,

Till by turning, turning we come round right.

                                               by Joseph Brackett

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             I have always loved that song. I can remember learning it in grade school, along with “My Country Tis of Thee” and “Go Tell Aunt Rhodie.”  I love hearing the “Tis the Gift to Be Simple” song.  The first two lines are my favorite.  This is supposedly an old song written to be a dance tune (hence the “turning, turning” instructional lyrics) written by an Elder of the Shaker community.  

I think of those first two lines as part of a reminder of two of the many things I am thankful for not only at this time of year, but all year round.  And they are usually the simple things in life for which I am truly grateful.  Like my eyesight and my hearing.  These really are not “simple” things, but they are things many of us have and probably take for granted. 

Once, when I was in my early twenties, I had a bright pink rose hanging on my bedroom mirror, along with a watercolored asian fan and a string of the blackest  beads on my mother’s rosary.  There were other little colored trinkets–yellow tickets from a concert, a brightly colored scarf.  These were some of the things I treasured for whatever sentimental reasons, and that I kept out where I could see them on a daily basis to remind me of how good some things in life can be. 

I remember waking up one morning in particular, and the sun was shining through my bedroom window, the rays of light pointing to my mirror where all my special things were hanging.  I was so struck by the color of everything all at once.  The bright pink of the rose, the green leaves, the yellow ticket, the colorful scarf… it was beautiful.  I immediately gave thanks to God for the ability to see, for my eyes, for the way all the color He created brought me such joy just looking at it and the feeling it gave me–happiness, euphoria! 

It was like that morning, everything seemed so intense in its color.  It was all I could see about anything I looked at that day.  Maybe that is why color is always the first thing that grabs me when I look at anything.  And why fall is my favorite time of year–all that color. 

So I am sharing with you some of the most recent images I took of fall this year.  I almost missed getting some photos because we had a really cold and windy blast come through that took many of the leaves off the trees in a matter of a couple of days, instead of lingering for a couple of weeks or so.  But I did manage to get a few, full of color and of joy.  

What simple things in your life have you given thanks for lately?  Let’s all be thankful for the seemingly simple things in life.   Happy Thanksgiving!

9 responses

  1. Simple, and gorgeous. Fall is my favorite too. I love color, whether it is the color we see, or all the colors of emotion or personality. Life is a rainbow.

    November 21, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    • Yes, Pamela. And I hope we both find that “pot of gold!”

      I snuck over to your site earlier and learned a few new things about skin care. Thanks for the tips!

      November 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm

  2. Lovely fall photos–just wish that fall did not involve me raking so much.

    November 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    • Yes, there are lots of trees in my yard and I usually am the last one on my block to rake them all up. But, once I’ve gotten them all done and bagged up, I feel so good that I did a hard day’s work and can go inside and relax all evening long, knowing how hard I worked earlier.

      Thanks for stopping by. Please, do come again anytime.

      November 22, 2010 at 11:02 pm

  3. Always love the autumn season.. Just walking down a deserted road cvered with a carpet of red/orange/yellow is just pleasent on the eyes.. Amazing pics again Rita.. Happy Thanksgiving.

    November 27, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    • Thanks, Addy. Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful!

      November 28, 2010 at 2:57 pm

  4. So so so beautiful!!! Fall colors pictures are the best. You’re such a good photographer!

    December 1, 2010 at 5:48 am

  5. Oh these are just lovely photos .. The fall season is my favorite season … yellow one of the favorite colors. And your photos seemed to have a little bit of both 🙂

    February 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    • Thank you. I love fall the most, too. Come and visit again anytime.

      February 9, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

