Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Long, Quiet Days

It’s late.  Christmas is over.  New Years Eve is ahead. I’ve been so busy the last couple of weeks and haven’t really given much thought to posting during this time, just because so many other things have taken priority. I’m sure everyone knows how that is right now, too.  But now, I’m sitting here in the late hours of the night, listening to Sade singing about the “Kiss of Life,” feeling calm and mellow.  I went through some of last year’s winter images I took around here.  I found a few that are kind of reflective of how I feel right now.  So, I won’t write much, but instead offer you a view of some winter images and wish you all a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a very Happy New Years.  Peace, people.

9 responses

  1. Hey Rita,

    Awesome pics yet again. Would like your feedback on a Christmas card I happened to design and posted on my blog. Seasons Greetings, Hope Santa gave you the gifts that you always wanted!!!

    Best Wishes,
    Addy

    December 27, 2010 at 8:10 am

    • Addy, I took a look at your card (image) on your post. I did comment, also. Thanks for wanting my opinion. Keep up the creativity!

      December 27, 2010 at 3:45 pm

  2. I LOVE the second photo – gorgeous winter wonderland shot and the red car in the corner really adds interest to the composition. Did you use some kind of painter effect for that image or does it look that way on it’s own? Just curious, I actually haven’t been able to figure out how to do that to my photos in PS!

    December 28, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    • Hey. Nice to hear from you again! I took those images early in the morning when I woke up and noticed it had snowed all night. It was still snowing when I took those shots, actually. I put a filter over my lens to protect it from the snow. My camera was pointing up towards the sky and snow, and I think snow flakes were falling on my filter because I had this weird sort of bluish-grey “speckling” on the images. I messed with the usual things in PS and then may have lowered the color slightly. But the sky really was a dirty grey that morning because it was just so early.

      December 29, 2010 at 1:58 am

  3. Your photos give me chills like a good ghost story. I especially love the ones with visible ice, like the holly. I can feel the crackle of the ice breaking and the cold taking my breath away when I look at it.
    You have a gift.
    Peace. Joy. Love. and Happiness for your 2011.

    December 29, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    • That image was taken the day after we had an ice storm the night before. It was crazy cold outside, but the ice was beautiful on everything. I had to hurry and get some shots because the sun came out immediately and was melting it all. Happy New Year to you, too!

      December 30, 2010 at 5:17 pm

  4. I know ice storms can cause such havoc but the images you created with them are incredible.So are the hoar frost trees. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    December 30, 2010 at 5:23 pm

  5. ozarkmomma

    These shots are just breathtaking. So pretty!

    January 25, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • Thanks for taking the time to look!

      January 25, 2011 at 10:53 am

Leave a Reply

