Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

My Blue World

(I knew that image of that disco ball I shot would come in handy one day!)

Picking this weeks post was really hard for me.  I thought about it being the first post of the new year and all that and wanted it to be something special.  I tossed a few ideas around in my head and couldn’t quite settle on anything.  I tried a few things out, and became frustrated.  Nothing seemed good enough or significant enough. 

I read some other blogs and still couldn’t come up with anything special.  I have some changes I want to make and some new things I want to add, but they’re not quite ready. 

Then, early Sunday afternoon, my daughter and I went to see Cirque Du Soleil.  The show was called Alegria.  We were both excited and eager to see this show.  We’ve been counting down the days for a couple of weeks now.  I was so hoping I could sneak my camera in and get some pics, but I knew that was going to be out of the question.  The tickets clearly stated “No Cameras/Recorders.”  And then I thought that it was probably for the best.  Not just for the performers (although I’m smart enough to know to turn off the flash), but for me as well.  Without having to focus on getting good shots, I could just sit back and fully enjoy the show.  And did we ever!

It was stunning!  The music is still playing in my head, several hours later.  Of course, the acrobatics are the thing that is the main focus.  But the overall effect of the music, the colors, the costumes, and the mood produced along with the acrobatics, made for the best experience and fantasy I have seen in a while.  It was perfect for getting me out of my world and into a world of over-stimulated senses that left me feeling inspired and refreshed! 

I came home  to put that new post together and all I could think of was the color blue. 

I love the color blue.  It always calms me and makes me feel relaxed and happy.  I like wearing blue and think it’s a color that flatters everyone.  I want to share with you some of the different shades of blue I have found in some photos I have taken.  I hope they make you feel soothed and calm like they do me.  And I hope you will feel inspired at the start of this new year —  like I do now after seeing Alegria!

16 responses

  1. Really good pics Rita! Maybe you could also add a picture if you have of the sea blue/green ocean as well???
    It would bring a new perspective!
    Happy New Year to you and your family!
    Best Wishes,
    Addy

    January 3, 2011 at 9:20 am

    • Thanks for viewing my pics again, Addy. Yes, I would love to have some pics of the ocean included. Unfortunately, the only ones I have are on film and I don’t have those digitalized for my PC yet. My world is very small in distance traveled. I’m not a world traveler like some photographers. (I cannot afford it!) But I always try to find beauty in the world around me — however small the boundary!

      January 3, 2011 at 10:11 am

  2. You do a stunning job of finding beauty in the world around you. The ocean is too obvious — i love the train! I love blue for its serenity. Thanks for sharing some this week.

    January 3, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    • Thanks, Pamela. Your comments have great value to me. 😉

      January 3, 2011 at 10:07 pm

  3. Beautiful pics! Just beautiful!
    Blue is my favourite colour too, for the same reasons as yours!
    A great way to start the New Year by sharing these. Thank you.
    Thanks also for visiting my blog when I was freshly pressed awhile ago.
    Appreciated it. Love your creativity!

    Mon

    January 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    • Hi, Mon. Thanks for visiting! Glad you enjoy the pics. How’s the weight loss/blogging going? I’ve been using my stationary bicycle on a more regular basis now that it’s too cold to get outside and walk. (I hate the cold weather!) I put it smack dab in the middle of my living room so I will not get bored and can watch T.V. while pedaling. And my daughter bought some new DDR games so I can have some variety. All is good!

      January 4, 2011 at 8:45 pm

  4. Beautiful photos!

    I have to agree with you about leaving the camera behind. Sometimes I get so caught up in trying to capture the shot that I fail to fully experience and enjoy an event.

    January 6, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • Thanks! Yes, and that’s why I was kind of glad cameras were restricted (and they were checking handbags). So I had a good excuse to just sit back and enjoy!

      January 6, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  5. I saw Cirque du Soleil in Orlando, and my reaction was like yours. It’s not often that I can just sit still and lose myself in something…. I lost myself in your beautiful photos for a few moments just now.

    January 9, 2011 at 7:22 am

    • Or, for you, I’m sure it’s not often you have the time with those adorable little ones of yours!

      January 10, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  6. Absolutely spectacular! The train car is my favorite.

    January 15, 2011 at 8:07 am

    • I love that color of blue, too!

      January 15, 2011 at 12:02 pm

  7. What a beautiful photo! You inspired me.
    I also updated my photograph in Japan.

    http://cocomino.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/blue-sky/

    January 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

    • Thank you. Your photo of the blue sky is very nice, too!

      January 27, 2011 at 8:10 am

  8. I ❤ blue too! Love the shades you captured here! 😀

    January 27, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    • It just always makes me feel so calm and happy!

      January 27, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Leave a Reply

