Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Why I Am Blessed

I read a post last week from a woman who I have never met in person, but who sometimes inspires me and sometimes makes me chuckle with her writings. You can read her post here at  http://pamelahutchins.com/2011/01/12/i-can-be-your-hero-baby/  I’ve been thinking about that post everyday since I read it.  It’s about one of those things that you know you should do, but you sometimes get busy with the work part of living — the hard stuff — that you forget to do the good things that make others feel loved by you and that lift them up as often as you should.  It had to do with words and praise.

It was a good reminder for me to remember to praise my own children more often and use kind words to encourage them, and not think that the only way to get them to do the things they should is by using more harsh words in the way of scolding or chastising them for not doing better on something.  Because the truth is, my children are a blessing to me.  They are, in fact, the greatest blessing of my life.  I couldn’t have asked for two better kids.  They are the loves of my life and what truly makes me the happiest in life.

I always knew I wanted to have children and be a mother.   But for a long time, I didn’t know if I would even be able to have any at all.  And I was trying to make peace with the fact that maybe it would never happen for me. 

When it finally did happen, I was elated and knew my dreams of being a mother would now make my life more fulfilled.  …and it has, indeed. 

I never thought I would be a single mother, but that’s how it’s ended up.  I’ve raised my kids alone for the past almost 9 years now.  It’s not been easy, either.  But I would NOT trade my motherhood or my two children for anything in the world.

My kids are almost grown now.  My daughter is 19 and in college, and my son is 16 and will be starting college in the fall.  They both still live at home with me, but I know that won’t last forever.  So, I do try to cherish every moment with them now, while they are here with me everyday, while I can. 

Like the other night when they offered to make shrimp tempura with zucchini and carrots. I’d been having kind of a rough morning, which they noticed.  So, of course, I took them up on the offer.  I’ve taught them both how to cook (as well as how to do their own laundry, which they do) and they do a pretty good job of it.  I took a peek in on them after they had started, and my heart just sang at the sight of them!  My daughter was in one corner of the kitchen dredging the shrimp in flour

… and my son was in the opposite corner battering up the ones his sister had already done.

Then my daughter brought her laptop into the kitchen so they could listen to their own music.  I have my kitchen radio turned to some station that plays classic rock and 70’s music, and they know not to touch the dial!

After she started the music, she went right back to flouring the shrimp, while my son continued to work his magic.

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                          Then it was time to start the fry pot.  In the meantime, my daughter made a zucchini tower.  Afterall, there still kids!

I stood there and watched them work together, while they laughed and talked about things that mattered to them.  I felt so lucky and so blessed to have these two wonderful human beings in my life.  They were trying to give me a break from everything and some time to do what I wanted while they made supper.  They’re caring and thoughtful, and they will pull together when they have to in order to get something accomplished. 

Before long, the food was ready.  They had let me sample a few of the shrimp, and it was tasting really good!

We laid a blanket on the floor in the living room and made a sort-of picnic.  (Yes, we do have a dinner table.  But, sometimes, just for old time’s sake, we like to pull our picnic blanket out and do like we did when the kids were little and make a picnic in the living room.) We talked and enjoyed our meal together.  I was truly happy, as I am anytime I get to spend time with them together. 

I told them thank you for making supper, and that I would do the clean-up.  I felt so much better than I did earlier in the day.  And I couldn’t help but think how good my life is because of these two kids.  We’re very close, and I hope we always will be.  And whenever I count my blessings, guess what number one and number two are?!

12 responses

  1. Ah, this made me kind of teary, and not in a “wow you linked to me thanks kind of way”, but in a “look at those beautiful almost grown people taking care of their mama. 🙂 It appears you have raised awesome offspring. Go, Rita.

    January 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

    • Yea, I was kind of teary-eyed myself looking at them working away in an effort to do something nice for me. Hope you don’t mind I linked w/out asking first. 🙂 Your post was really inspiring to me!

      January 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm

  2. Awwww. It’s pretty obvious that you’ve done an awesome job with your kids, Rita. It sounds like one of those incredible memories that you’re always going to have with you.

    January 19, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    • I think so, too. Single motherhood is a lot of work, but it does have it’s good moments, too!

      January 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  3. jesswords10

    No other sound to describe, just awww. I’m so happy for you to enjoy this special moment in your family. It’s little things like this I try to remember each day while I keep a gratitude journal, and record 5 things each day I’m grateful for. Thanks for sharing your blessings, hope you enjoyed some leftovers!

    January 20, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    • I have always tried to really grab on to and squeeze every moment of joy I can out of these exact kind of moments. Life sometimes has so many stuggles and hardships, and I say you have to also see the beauty in every moment you can when it’s right there in front of you.

      Thanks for stopping by. I checked out your blog and look forward to reading more from you!

      January 21, 2011 at 12:12 am

  4. I loved this post. It shows what a great job you have done with these kids. It is truly a blessing.

    January 21, 2011 at 11:46 am

    • Thanks. I am so fortunate.

      January 21, 2011 at 4:07 pm

  5. Those are some precious moments, Rita! You certainly did a great job raising them. You are blessed to have them, and they are blessed to have a mom like you 🙂

    January 24, 2011 at 4:32 am

    • Thank you, Nadia. You’re right, it is a two-way blessing … and I don’t even have to always remind them of that! 😉

      January 24, 2011 at 6:13 am

  6. I read two of your blogs. I especially liked this one where your children were so thoughtful and worked together. I also am blessed with a son and daughter so your thoughts, and feelings rang true to my heart. A very nice blog and I will continue to follow. I like the personal photos which are very special. I have not been blogging long and can’t figure out adding music which I see you have. I know it will come. Thank you for sharing.

    January 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    • Thank you for your comments and your compliments. I had to pay to get more space on my blog so it will allow me to have music. I had it on the Home page but now that I have so many posts, its on the last post of my home page (which is on another page). I will have to move it but just haven’t gotten around to it. There is lots more I want to add to my blog. I am working on several things right now. I think the company I use for my music player is Sound Cloud. You can look up the info on the Help page of WordPress. They have great information to help you with your blogging. I have not even been blogging a year yet and have learned so much. I will check out your blog first chance I get! Please come back anytime.

      January 25, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

