Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Valentine’s Day for One

I love Valentine’s Day.  I don’t care if I am in a relationship or not.  It’s a good excuse to buy a big box of chocolates all for myself, rent some good, old-fashioned love stories, and camp out on my couch with a blanket in my P.J.’s and fluffy socks. 

Actually, I prefer to watch those mushy love stories all by myself.  I don’t have to worry about being interrupted during all the good scenes, and I can cry if I want without someone thinking they have to comfort me or something.  Crying is a part of the movie experience for me, just like laughing at a comedy, or sitting on the edge of my seat during a suspense movie. Yet, a date can handle laughing, or you clutching the arm of your chair (or even their arm or hand), but crying makes them uncomfortable.  They don’t seem to know how to handle that.  (How about you just keep looking at the screen and don’t talk to me because I’m really in to the movie, dude?!) 

So, here is a list of some of my favorite love stories of all time.  Some you may have seen, some maybe not.  But I don’t see them every year, so enough time passes in between that I enjoy seeing them again when I do. 

A Walk in the Clouds — with Keanu Reeves.  The story of a handsome young man who meets a beautiful young woman with a serious dilemma.   He offers to help her out.  All I could think about when watching this movie was, “Do they even make men like that anymore?”   A good friend lent this to me, and I’m so glad she did.  It’s become one of my favorites.

Spanglish — with Adam Sandler.  I think Adam Sandler is funny.  But this movie made me realize what a serious actor he can be, too.  Kind of like Robin Williams.  I loved this movie!  It so touching, funny, and heartbreaking –all at the same time.  I really like movies that make me laugh and cry. 

Bridges of Madison County — Meryl Streep and Clint Eastwood.  Anyone who’s ever been a stay-at-home wife and mother can relate to this movie in some part.  It’s not about a good or bad marriage; it’s about real life and good and/or bad timing.  What would you do?

Urban Cowboy — John Travolta and Debra Winger.  Wow.  What can I say?  A classic.  Young, dumb love that just might or might not work out.  Maybe if they can just grow up a little …  Great music and dance scenes.  Work it, John!  Yea, baby!  Sorry, Oprah.  I loved him long before you did!

Best Friends — Goldie Hawn and Burt Reynolds.  Yes, I know this one is older.  But it’s funny, and sweet.  About a couple of writers in Hollywood who have been living together and are contemplating marriage.

Swing Shift — Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russel.  Another great movie with Goldie Hawn.  This is the movie when the two of them started dating.  … and they’re still together!  That should be enough to make you want to watch this.  A movie about a woman whose husband goes off to war, she goes to work in a factory with her best girlfriend, they meet a guy, and then…

This is a good start.  There’s also Gone with the Wind, Funny Girl, A Star is Born, and Titanic. 

How about some romantic love songs, too.

This song is one of my favorite songs.  It’s because the words, to me, describe what real love should be like.  He tells her that “you don’t have to be alone,” and “come rest your head on my shoulder,” and “I need you here in my arms.”  And all kinds of other comforting things.  Just listen to the words…  “I want to give you a little tenderness, to let you know that you’re loved.”

22 responses

  1. nice movies. thanks for sharing!:D

    February 7, 2011 at 7:12 am

    • Your welcome. Hope you get to watch one or two.

      February 7, 2011 at 8:28 am

  2. I prefer to watch those types of films alone too and really get into the film, cry / laugh etc without worrying that someone beside me thinks it’s a rubbish film! I love ‘A Walk to Remember’ – so soppy but I cry every time 🙂

    February 7, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • I have not seen that one yet, but it is on my list of ones to see. Maybe this coming week — we’re supposed to get snow again!

      February 7, 2011 at 8:29 am

  3. One more movie for you: The Notebook. SOB.
    Excellent list.
    And fun to read you for a change, even if I am a sucker for your photos.

    February 7, 2011 at 8:09 am

    • Actually, I did see that one and loved it, too. Just left it out because I figured it was probably one a lot of people had already seen. Like Sleepless in Seattle, which I also love! So much snow lately, I haven’t been out shooting any. I figure most people are probably sick of snow pics–or don’t want to be reminded of all that cold. I know I’m getting pretty tired of it already. Thanks for reading, Pamela!

      February 7, 2011 at 8:33 am

  4. I think I haven’t seen any of those movies. Thanks for sharing them, I’ll be sure to watch them some time soon!

    February 7, 2011 at 10:38 am

    • Yes, a lot of them are “oldies, but goodies!”

      February 7, 2011 at 3:15 pm

  5. LOVE the whole fluffy socks and movies thing! I’m the same way about movies–they are sacred to me. I HAVE to hear every single line, and let it sink in, and don’t want to hear ANYONE talking…and I need popcorn, a glass of wine, or a piece of cake to go with.

    LOVE Adam, love BRIDGES, love URBAN. Can’t believe I haven’t seen Best Friends. Thanks for the recs!

    February 9, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    • Cake?! Did someone say “cake?!” Anytime, anywhere … and I’m good!

      February 9, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  6. This is making me nostalgic. My all-time favorite is “Out of Africa.”

    February 10, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    • Ahhh… I really like that one, too. Only I have never seen it all the way through! I always come in somewhere in the middle. I must make a plan to rent that one and watch when it’s just me. Thanks for reading, Jenny!

      February 10, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  7. Lol…nice post and guess i’ll follow your tip for this valentine…

    February 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    • Thanks. Glad you came back. Happy Valentine’s Day to us! Enjoy a movie of your choice. 🙂

      February 11, 2011 at 10:50 pm

  8. Very nice post! I never used to have a boyfriend on valentine’s day. Always seemed to break up in January- lol. Now I’m married so its all good. I think you are very cool. Love the dark theme too. K

    February 12, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • Let me run and tell my kids someone else, besides me, thinks I’m cool! Thanks for your comments. Come back anytime!

      February 13, 2011 at 4:31 am

  9. Thanks for sharing your candid thoughts about crying during love stories — I do too! That’s the whole point, right? Otherwise why are we watching them? It’s best to jump right in as you say. Fun post.

    February 16, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    • That IS the whole point, yes! I hate when people tell me, “it’s just a movie.” I don’t want to watch a movie thinking that. I want to immerse myself totally in the believability of the movie–at least while I’m watching.

      February 16, 2011 at 10:08 pm

  10. I love When Harry Met Sally! I’d like to check out the Goldie Hawn movies because I don’t think I’ve seen any with her in it.

    February 16, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    • I think you would really like Swing Shift. Hope you can find them! I have them both recorded on VCR. Remember those?

      February 16, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  11. Your list is missing Return to Me with David Duchovny AND Forget Paris with Billy Crystal & Debra Winger. Great movies. I demand quiet in the room when I watch a movie, too.

    February 18, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    • Believe it or not, I haven’t seen either of those. Maybe I saw five minutes or less of Forget Paris. I will have to rent and watch. Someone else told me about Return to Me, so I guess I better see both of those!

      February 18, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

