Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

The Oscars, the Superbowl of Movies

The 83rd Academy Awards has been completed and the winner of winners was The King’s Speech.  I haven’t seen it yet, but now it’s on my list of movies to see.  Every year after the Oscars, I make an attempt to see all the nominees for best picture.  I at least try to see the winner, if not the rest.  So far, I have seen The Kids Are Alright and The Social Network.  I loved them both! 

I love watching the Oscars and haven’t missed one in years.  Last night, I had my pizza, soft drink, fruit slices, and dark chocolate chex-mix as I sat down for a night of fashion, glamour, and speeches on what has become the equivalent of what most men (and I’m sure some women, too) feel when preparing to watch the Superbowl.  I had been waiting weeks for it.

I was a little disappointed that they didn’t have a superstar comedian as the host, because I love all the pot shots taken at the actors and the way everyone laughs good-heartedly.  This year, the hosts were a couple of younger actors, James Franco and Anne Hathaway.  Anne joked about how they were the “younger demographic” hosts.  I have seen Anne in comedy roles and only know very little about James Franco (yes, I think I have seen him on some soap opera now and then), so I was not thrilled about them hosting.  Part of the fun of the show for me is all the comedy I look forward to during the event. But I was willing to give them a chance and not let their lack of comedic skills or experience ruin it for me. 

I think they were just “okay.”  Anne was much better than James, I thought, with her attempts.  So I have to give it to her for trying.  James would not have been very good without her as his sidekick (although, I actually think he was more of her sidekick).

I did like the dresses Anne wore, the red and the burgundy ones being my favorite.                     

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              And…speaking of favorite dresses, here are some of the best dresses of the night, in my opinion.

  

This woman always looks great.  She knows what looks good on her, and has great taste. 

Sandra Bullock has been through a lot in one year, but I love that she continues to hold her head high and faces the world head on, all with style and grace, and even a little humor.

                                                                                                                                                   Matthew McConaughey is undoubtedly one of the best looking men in Hollywood, but his wife, Camila Alves, is absolutely stunning in this dress.  I think it was my favorite one of the whole night.  She looks gorgeous in this dress.  And the back is just as beautiful.

 

I think the color of this dress is fabulous!  It looks so good on Natalie Portman.  It’s not too much and not too little for the mother-to-be.  And the best thing for me was that she wore something besides those peep-toe, platform pumps that you see EVERY actress in Hollywood wearing!  Yes, they are cute, but does everyone have to wear them and to everything?!  I mean, come on.  If pregnant Natalie can teeter around on some sophisticated pointy shoes, can’t some of the rest of them change it back up a little and do the same?  Love her shoes!

                                                                       

                                                                                                                                                                    Some of the worst dressed — and there’s always at least a couple — are below.

And, finally, here are some women who dress age-appropriate and look beautiful because they obviously are confident with who they are –at every age!

Now, go and watch an Oscar nominated movie — and don’t forget the popcorn!

18 responses

  1. Very Nice posting ..visit back to our sites if you want more news about celebrity progress good Job

    February 28, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    • Thanks for visiting!

      February 28, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  2. Helen Mirren looked fabulous. And I thought Anne did great and looked great. I could not believe the number of gowns and hairdos she went through. But, most importantly, you have to share the dark chocolate/chex mix recipe.

    March 1, 2011 at 8:53 am

    • That’s too funny! Here’s the recipe: “Go to WalMart and look in the snack aisle.” So simple! 🙂

      By the way, I am getting ready to add some blog sites to my blog roll. (Right now I just have “wordpress.com” and “wordpress.org.” Original, huh?) Is it okay if I add you? Thanks, in advance!

      March 1, 2011 at 10:52 am

  3. I guess I must be the only person who likes Melissa Leo’s dress, aside from Melissa herself!
    It reminds me of paper snowflakes, which I have always loved.

    March 1, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    • Awww… that’s cute! It does kind of look like snowflakes. I think it would be okay, just not for the Oscars. Maybe I would like it better if it was shorter, than there wouldn’t be so much pattern everywhere. Also, I don’t like her sleeves or that collar/neckline. If it was a short sheath-style dress, with better fitted, shorter sleeves and round neckline, and her hair was styled maybe in soft loose waves and down…

      March 2, 2011 at 12:06 am

  4. I love how white Anne Hathaway is and she looks great! And by that, I mean not fake tanned. I love seeing celebrites with fair skin not trying ruining their health in tanning beds for the sake of “beauty.” I used to be really self conscious about being so pale so I’m happy to see big stars looking natural.

    March 2, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    • I think she is beautiful, too. I believe all skin tones are beautiful–meaning, the ones we are all born with. I think Nicole Kidman is very beautiful with her very pale, flawless-looking skin. I also think Halle Berry and Jenifer Hudson are gorgeous with their different shades of brown skin. Don’t be self-conscious about your coloring! You’re lovely as you are!

      I agree with you and think women, especially, need to quit trying to turn themselves into something other than what they are and, instead, enhance their own natural beauty with the skin tone they were born with. And I could write a whole blog post on this subject, and then some! Maybe I will next time. 🙂

      March 2, 2011 at 11:58 pm

  5. I love the dresses too. Wouldn’t it be fun to dress up like that?!

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll, Rita. I’m going to do the same!

    March 3, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Yes, it would. 🙂

      March 4, 2011 at 1:59 pm

  6. god florence has the weirdest taste in outfits!

    March 4, 2011 at 3:41 am

    • Yeah, I understand being an “artist” and all that, but…no. It’s not working.

      Thanks for your comment.

      March 4, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  7. I can tell you right now that none of those actors were from New Hampshuh. I didn’t see any flannel or jeans or muddy boots… : )

    March 5, 2011 at 11:18 am

    • …or from “roun d heer, theez parts” neethur.

      Cute!

      March 5, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  8. Brilliant blog…your photography is just amazing…how cute was that little girl…Eliza Keating

    March 11, 2011 at 4:00 am

    • Thanks, so much! I love being creative. The little girl (the one in the post about Photoshop is the one I believe you are talking about) was just so adorable. She was so happy. You should have seen her brother, who was slightly older, sitting with her and being protective of her just like an older brother should. It was too cute for words!

      March 11, 2011 at 8:11 am

Leave a Reply

