Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

The Magic of Photoshop

I like taking images of all kinds of things with my camera.  And I like being able to manipulate those same images, if I feel like it, in Photoshop.  I’ve been working in it now for several years, and feel very comfortable moving around and using different techniques to get the results I need to create the kind of work I do. 

Many photographers use Photoshop to varying degrees.  It’s just part and parcel of the industry.  The main use is to improve images taken that don’t quite measure up to the perfection everyone wants to see in their photos.  Mostly, color correction and tonal improvement are what’s needed.  But there is so much more you can do with Photoshop, or one of many other editing programs out there.  I’m sharing with you some examples of what can be done when you really know how to manipulate things in Photoshop.

This first one is an image I used in a post a few back.  The little girl was so cute and smiled for me when I asked her grandfather if I could take her picture.  But I didn’t like the background and how bright the sun was on the street and house behind her.  I thought it was distracting.  So, I used an overlay I created and cropped the image to focus more on her face and smile.

                                                                                                                                                   In this next image, taken by photographer Darren Decker (whose permission I have to use this photo), I wanted to really make the image more romantic by getting rid of the background entirely and focusing on the soft, emotional kiss of the groom and his bride. 

                                                                                                                                                                                             I like it much better now, because the focus is totally on the couple.

                                                                                                                                          

Forgot to remove your glasses? 

                                                                                                                                                                           Don’t worry.  I can fix that and pump up the color and mood, too!

                                                                                                                                                                                                           The lighting in this image was really washing everything out and ruining the romantic setting and mood of the wedding pics.  Night had already begun to set in and it was hard to get a really good image with just what the photographer had on hand for lighting.  I was the second shooter and was loving the idea of what this could be.  It took some work, but I was so happy with the result.

                                                                                                                                                       You really have to have some sort of art knowledge and skill to do more than simple color correction.  But if you do, there is no end to the possibilities you can create. 

Sometimes you just don’t have enough time to capture the shot you want.  But you can see there is something there.  I can hardly wait to rush home and start on an image once I have shot it, because I have this idea in my head of where I want it to go and it’s exciting to start working on that. 

Like this work by Blackbear Bosin.  My image did not do him justice.   So, I worked and worked on it, till I thought I had something that would make him proud. 

                                                                                 It’s fun to see just how far I can go.  The only limitation is my imagination.  And, believe me, I feel like I have no limitations there!

26 responses

  1. pasang gratis

    wow! photoshop is able to realize the things that can not be obtained directly from the camera.

    March 7, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    • Yes, it’s fantastic what you can do if you know how. Not every photo needs these things, of course. But it’s nice to be able to do different things when the mood strikes or when it needs improving.

      Thanks for your comment.

      March 7, 2011 at 11:06 pm

  2. Wow. You’re so good.

    March 8, 2011 at 3:45 am

  3. Sorry for dropping by again but these pictures are so nice. I couldnt almost believe the lady with the glasses which you helped remove her glasses(lol…) and the last pix of the lady you gave a tattoo…awesome. How long does it take you to modify a picture?

    March 8, 2011 at 3:51 am

    • You can drop by as many times as you like! 🙂 It depends on what I am doing to the pic on how long it takes to modify it. If it’s something minor, maybe 20 to 30 minutes. Other times, I like to work on something for maybe an hour or two, because you have to walk away from it a time or two to keep your perspective on color and other issues and get a fresh look.

      Thanks for your comment and the compliments. I really love what I do and so it does not seem like work to me at all.

      March 8, 2011 at 6:53 am

  4. great post, it sure does rock!

    March 8, 2011 at 7:40 am

    • Oh, you are so cute! Thanks!

      March 8, 2011 at 7:46 am

  5. You have just made me want to go an play. I have not done enough with this program beyond cropping. Thanks for the tutorial.

    March 8, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    • Yes, playing is the fun part about Photoshop! My goal is to offer more things that have to do with Photoshop in the future. Templates and such. Maybe even a few tutorials. I’ve been working on it for some time. Just been very busy.

      March 8, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  6. You’re a pro. My favorite photoshop trick is to layer 2 photos together. My least favorite thing about photoshop is that it’s so addictive.

    March 8, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    • Seriously! I agree, it’s very addictive.
      Thanks for stopping by. Come back anytime.

      March 8, 2011 at 7:29 pm

  7. Oh how I wish I had your skills. I love what you did with the wedding photo of the couple where you created the moonlight night mood.

    March 8, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    • Oh, thank you. I loved working on that one, too!

      March 8, 2011 at 11:17 pm

  8. somebest

    wow! it’s very addictive.

    March 9, 2011 at 2:01 am

  9. Jess Witkins

    Wow, these photos are gorgeous! I love what you’ve done to enhance the colors and focus of each one. You are extremely talented. Do you do this professionally?

    March 10, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    • Thanks! Yes, I freelance.

      March 10, 2011 at 3:28 pm

  10. Oooh, I *love* PhotoShop and Adobe! And you worked wonders with those photos!

    March 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    • Thanks! I could spend hours on the computer playing around and creating. 🙂

      March 12, 2011 at 12:19 am

  11. Wow, you are a Photoshop whiz! I have Photoshop, but I really only know the basics of editing a photo or putting together collages…these look incredible. Are you self-taught or did you take a class at some point?

    -Halie

    March 15, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • Hi, Halie. Thanks, for your compliment! Yes, I am completely self-taught. But I worked in it everyday for over 3 years — at my home, and at my job. I knew a little before I started my job doing photo touch-ups and such. Then it just kept progressing as I got better and better. I find it very rewarding. It helps me with my photography, too.

      My original goal with a site was to offer templates and other things for photographers to help them with their own photography. I have a lot of experience in creating things for all areas of photography because of what I use to do. I am just trying to get everything laid out correctly before I start on that aspect of my site. I just have so much I love to do, creatively — including writing — so, I sometimes get sidetracked. 🙂 Keep checking back if you are interested in that kind of thing! Love your site, too!

      March 15, 2011 at 8:44 pm

  12. Wow, great effects !!
    I wish I knew how to work photoshop. I can do simple things, but still haven’t figured out the important stuff, like taking the glare off of someone’s glasses.
    I guess I need to read the instructions or something.

    March 22, 2011 at 2:11 am

    • Photoshop has a very steep learning curve. It’s not impossible to learn, it just takes a lot of practice. I have worked in it a long time and on a daily basis. Don’t give up!

      March 22, 2011 at 7:36 am

  13. Lovely work!

    Of course I know that you really had that girl pose twice, both with and without her glasses, and that you repainted the door between the two shots– pretty darn tricky…

    Yes, I’m kidding– great job! : )

    March 25, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    • Busted! You caught me, what can I say? 🙂

      Some of the things people have had me do almost makes it seem like it would be easier to just reshoot, that’s true. But, how do you redo a whole wedding? Once, I retouched 24 large-size photos from a woman’s wedding book that had been sitting in a basement and had water damage. It was gross, with mold and mildew all over! (Was glad when that project was over!) The images were about 40 years old.

      Thanks for the compliment!

      March 25, 2011 at 4:41 pm

  14. I like the touch on the wedding couples. The flash in the actual image looks so wrong. Thanks!

    March 30, 2011 at 9:00 am

    • Yes, I agree. I snapped it right when the other photographer was using her (external) flash because there was almost no light at this point and she was using it for everything the same. (She had never shot a night wedding before and was just winging it! That’s why she asked me to help her and be the second shooter.) I couldn’t get the same angle she had because of where she was standing, but I knew with photoshop it would be salvageable. It was a challenge, but I enjoyed it and the outcome–and so did the couple!

      March 30, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

