Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Do you “like” it, or do you “love” it?

Lately, I’ve been noticing just how much I use the word “love” for practically everything I “really like.”  Maybe it’s because I read a comment somewhere by someone who voiced their opinion and said she thought people were overusing the word love — and using it inappropriately.  I mean, I had already begun to realize I use the word more than I use to, but her comment caused me to pay attention to every time I prepared to use it.  And, it was quite a bit.

Remember when you were a kid, about 7 or 8, and you said you “loved” something and some smart-aleck kid (maybe even your supposed best friend) would say, “If you love it so much, why don’t you marry it! …eehhh?” 

You just wanted to punch them for embarrassing you in front of all the other kids, because no one wanted to think about marrying anybody (ick!) or anything at that young age.  You were only supposed to love your boyfriend or girlfriend, who then later (according to the morals of society back then) would become your “forever” wife or husband.

So, how in the world can you say you “love” chocolate ice cream?  You can’t marry it.  Jeeez!  Or you “loved” that movie or that song.  Or you love Johnny Depp (okay, maybe you can say that one) or John Travolta (but I really do!) or any other actor on the screen. 

Websters gives these definitions of the word “love:”

1
a (1) : strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties *maternal love for a child* (2) : attraction based on sexual desire : affection and tenderness felt by lovers (3) : affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests *love for his old schoolmates* b : an assurance of affection *give her my love*
2
: warm attachment, enthusiasm, or devotion  *love of the sea*
3
a : the object of attachment, devotion, or admiration  *baseball was his first love*
 
So, apparently, I can “love” chocolate ice cream.  And I can even love Johnny Depp and John Travolta, according to definition no. 1, part 1 of 2.  (Hey, they don’t say it has to be mutual!)  Reading definition no. 3, you can even “love” beer, the Yankees, or Charmin toilet paper, if you so desire.  Whatever trips your trigger…!
 
But…even knowing that I can use “love” to encompass so many things I “really like,” there is something there to knowing that word can be reserved in my usage for only those I truly have strong feelings for and who, hopefully, reciprocate those feelings.  I mean, it does make it more special when we hold some things in reverence and reserve for only unique situations.
 
I guess I’m going to have to demote chocolate ice cream to “really like.”  But, for you, John, I’m still going to always “love” you.
11 responses

  1. Wonderful post. Interesting and creatively written, light and humorful. Even the michael dance that you chose was appropriate and not too lengthy.
    I loved it! (ha ha)

    March 15, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    • Hey, thanks! Good to hear from you again. Thanks for stopping by!

      March 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

  2. And everyone who appears on “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” always says, “OMG.”

    I still love chocolate ice-cream… and, yes, I love John Travolta too!

    Michael was a great movie!

    March 15, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    • That man just gets better and better the older he gets! He makes some of the best movies.

      March 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    • I think they do that on any home improvement show. “OMG, look at that!”

      March 16, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  3. Maybe I’m meant to ‘like’ this post but I absolutely love it! Its so beautifully written I couldn’t keep a smile off my face till the last line.

    March 16, 2011 at 4:42 am

    • And I “love” your comment! Thanks for dropping by.

      March 16, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  4. Kim

    I love Johnny Depp, one can totally say that 😀

    March 16, 2011 at 6:53 am

  5. I love this post lol, I get what you mean I often fall into the trap of saying I love something. Maybe it’s about what can you not live without then maybe you love it? Like hair straighteners 🙂

    March 16, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

