Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

What a wonderful night for a moondance!

Last night was the night of the Supermoon.  Something about the closest the moon has ever been to the earth, or in a long time, or something.  I didn’t even know about it till my friend told me.  So, I got my camera ready and was anxious to see if I could get some good shots.  But, it was cloudy most of the day and I wasn’t sure if the clouds would clear up by evening.

After getting back from the grocery store with my son, I told him it didn’t look like it was going to be a very good night for moon gazing, much less picture-taking.  We looked everywhere in the sky, but could see nothing.  Then, when coming back from picking up my daughter from a play, there it was … big and bright and shiny.  The clouds had started separating and it was like a curtain was being pulled back for us to take a peek.

I ran inside and got my camera, and my son accompanied me to the drive way, where I had a perfect shot between a couple of trees.  I didn’t have a tripod (still not yet! what is wrong with me?!) and so he let me use his shoulder part of the time to lean against.  Then, I just started leaning against my car to try to hold steady.  We were “ewwing” and “awwing” all over the place at the sight.  The clouds were just so spectacular, the way the moon cast it’s light upon, in front, and behind them.  The best part was spending time with my son.  He had just as good a time as I did.  I hope I made some great memories for him and that he will remember the night he and I stood in the chilly night air gazing at the moon!

16 responses

  1. Great shot.
    In Japan we can see the shape of rabbit on the moon as you may know.

    March 21, 2011 at 6:43 am

    • That would be so fun! We see the “man” in the moon here.

      March 21, 2011 at 10:09 am

  2. Oh man, how do you DO that? those are beautiful! And I didn’t even get outside and see it. I’m glad you took those gorgeous shots, because now I did. 🙂

    March 21, 2011 at 8:18 am

    • I’m glad you got to see it through my eyes (my lens). I’m telling you, the clouds were unbelievable!

      March 21, 2011 at 10:10 am

  3. Cool, but spooky too! You’ll have to save some of those for Halloween!

    March 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    • Yes, it like a fine line between beauty and “bwa, ha, ha…!” I’ve already been thinking about how I can use these in other images.

      That 4th pic from the top actually reminded me of when that “plague of death” comes rolling into the city, and it’s like that green cloud that looks like it’s reaching out to grab the first males born in each family, in The Ten Commandments! 😮

      March 23, 2011 at 1:47 am

  4. crustabakes

    WOW, those are some amazing shots, and your son is such a gem to lend you his shoulders to steady your shots!

    March 27, 2011 at 2:52 am

    • Oh, hey, thanks! Yeah, he’s one of a kind. Good thing he’s taller than me.

      You have the absolute cutest blog! I was wandering through there just drooling over all your recipes. I bookmarked it so I can try something from there periodically. You have a lemon bundt cake on there that I am definitely going to try out real soon! And your photography with all your dishware is great.

      March 27, 2011 at 4:54 am

  5. Awesome! I can’t believe you did that without a tripod. What great family time you had with your son.

    March 27, 2011 at 7:14 am

    • My arms and shoulders, legs, back, booty…everything!…were so sore the next day and I couldn’t figure out why I was hurting so bad. It didn’t dawn on me till later in the day that it was because I was tensing my whole body trying not to shake or move while shooting! I was using a longer lens, too, and holding that weight pointing up at the sky took some muscle.

      My son is my buddy, for sure!

      March 27, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  6. I love, love, love your pictures of that moon. The kids and I went for a walk (with our big black dog) to where trees were not in the way and watched as the moon rose. Then it went and hid in the clouds. We got to see it while it was a big orange globe.

    Thanks for the award. I really do appreciate it.

    March 28, 2011 at 11:03 am

    • Don’t mention it. I’m so glad I finally checked out your blog. I can relate to much that you write about. …and that’s a good feeling!

      March 28, 2011 at 3:49 pm

  7. Those are some awesome pictures of the moon. I looked at supermoon and my Dad kind of dampened my enthusiasm for waiting by saying “it’s not that big” on that weekend.

    March 30, 2011 at 5:57 am

    • Awww…. Well, at least you saw it anyway. I usually tell myself “Your not stealing my joy!” when my family or friends don’t have the same excitement about something that I do. …and then I go ahead and act like a big kid! 🙂

      March 30, 2011 at 6:52 am

  8. Kim

    Very nice shots! I somehow missed the Supermoon 😦

    April 2, 2011 at 6:06 am

    • I almost missed it, too, till my friend told me about it. I’m so glad I was able to get these shots and share them with everyone!

      April 2, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Leave a Reply

