Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Sisters and Quilt Shows

Today I had a great time doing a little sister bonding and perusing the Walnut Valley Quilter’s Guild bi-annual quilt show.  It was entitled “There’s No Place Like Home…A Kansas Quilt Show.”  It was about a 45 minute drive from where we both live, so it gave us plenty of time to talk and catch up on what’s been going on in each other’s lives. 

I knew the drive was going to be just a little bit, so I took along some crocheting to keep me busy.  Actually, the truth of the matter is, I wasn’t sure what kind of driver my sister was because I haven’t been a passenger in a car she’s driven in quite some time.  So, I was trying to distract myself — just in case.   I do all the driving around here, chaffeuring my two teenagers around everywhere.  I don’t trust very many people to drive me anywhere, and it’s nerve-wracking for me to be in the passenger’s seat rather than behind the wheel.  I hate having no control in any situation.  I didn’t say I need to be in control of everything, I said I dislike not having even a tiny smidgen of control in a situation. (Did you hear that ex-husband? Do you understand the difference? Oh, hell, you don’t even read my blog!) 

Anyway, she did okay, I guess.  As I said, I tried not to pay too much attention.  It was nice to talk about our interests, how our kids were doing, the similarities in raising teenagers, and family gossip.  Normally, I don’t like gossip and try not to partake in it, but this was family gossip. You know, things I need to know.  The weather was perfect.  It wasn’t supposed to get bad till later in the day so we were fine because we left early enough in the day.  We had a great time looking at all the beautiful, hard work these people put into their quilts. 

         “Pay no attention to the man behind that curtain!”

                               How fun is that?!  I loved all the colors and the artwork.

                  Normally, I’m not a fan of dark quilts in general, but I really liked this next one. 

There was also another room full of quilts called The Patriotic Exhibit.  It was fantastic and very sentimental.  They were so beautiful it made me want to make one to display in my home.  One in particular had the Pledge of Allegiance embroidered on it. 

There was also an area entitled “The Man Cave” with a sign quilted saying exactly that.  At first, I thought it was an exhibit.  I was standing there staring at the sign and the work put into it and the two smaller quilts in the area portraying “man cave” scenes.  There was an older gentleman sitting in a chair and he was not very friendly looking.  We were laughing at the idea (and I was wondering why the man was not telling us anything about the mini-quilts).  Then I realized it was an actual “man cave” for the men who did not want to walk around looking at quilts with their wives!  Ooops!  We quickly walked away, our heads down. 

On the way back, we stopped at a Mexican restaurant to have a bite.  We sat and talked about our kids, laughing and sharing our frustrations over the antics of teenagers.   Finally, we drove home.  We decided we should do this kind of thing more often.  It was nice to get away for a few hours.  And living in the mid-west, there is always something of this nature going on somewhere.  We made plans to make plans for a once-a-month trip during the summer and fall, maybe just traveling to an out-of-town quilt shop for supplies and to drool over the fabric, buttons, patterns and ideas. 

I’m so glad my mother taught us to sew when we were young.  It not only created a good life-skill that helps us save money and gives us another outlet for our creativity, but it brings us together and enables us to continue to create good memories in our lives as we spend time sharing our love of sewing.  And I really enjoy that.

18 responses

  1. I love the green one with all the color, and the tea time. I fail as a domestic goddes. I have never quilted :(.
    These are gorgeous.

    April 4, 2011 at 9:52 am

    • Those were my two favorite, also! No kidding!

      April 4, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  2. I know how to sew but currently have no time. I REALLY loved the Wizard of Oz quilt. Very cool. I admire your talents and sharing your pictures. Thank you 🙂

    April 4, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    • Time is my major hinderance, also. Sewing is very rewarding for me. I have only made mini-quilts and very basic rectangle shapes in a quilt. Some day, though…

      April 4, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  3. There is nothing like looking at a bunch of quilts and getting inspired. I love seeing other people’s work and their color choices.

    April 4, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    • Inspiration was definitely abundant. I purchased a bundle of flannel fabric pieces to make a quilt for my daughter. I can’t wait to start on it! It’s just going to be simple, but it’s the colors and the fabric (and the fact that it was made by me, hopefully) that will make it special.

      April 4, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  4. What a cool thing to do! They’re beautiful!

    I’ve been saving my boys’ clothes, especially the baby john-johns, and the crib skirt–all to one day have someone make me a quilt or two.

    April 6, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    • You sound like my mom. She’s in the process (probably has been for quite some time) of making a quilt from all ten of us kid’s clothes. The oldest child in the family is 54. My mom turned 72 this year.

      Don’t wait that long. 🙂

      April 6, 2011 at 6:18 pm

  5. They are gorgeous!!!

    April 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    • Yes, they are. They were just so many to look at and so many booths of all kinds of sewing goodies.

      You have a cute blog! Will be checking more of it out soon.

      April 7, 2011 at 12:34 am

  6. I remembered the travel for Turkish.
    Some Turkey carpet sellers came on with a hard sell. 😥
    However, this various design inspired me.
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    April 9, 2011 at 6:33 am

    • Yes, I get inspired looking at others work, too.

      April 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm

  7. Oh my gosh, I love how you ended up in the man cave! I would have done the same thing. Expected the man in there to tell me about his quilts. Too funny.

    And I loved your line, “but this was family gossip. You know, things I need to know.” So true!

    I wish I could sew. I have absolutely zero talent in that area. Growing up, my grandmother lived with us, and she could sew anything. She used to make her own clothes, beautiful pieces of work, without even any patterns. However, that skill did not pass down. She did all the sewing in the house.

    To be fair, my sister is amazing at things like that. My grandmother did pass down her knowledge to her about sewing, and to me, she passed down how to make lasagne.

    Okay, I’m off track. Just wanted to say thanks for the pictures! And the laugh.

    April 11, 2011 at 11:35 am

    • Yea, I do that a lot, too. I guess that’s why we blog–we like to talk!

      Sewing is definitely a passion of mine. It’s just another way for me to express my creativity!

      April 11, 2011 at 11:13 pm

  8. HI! I’ve only just stumbled across your blog and when reading your ‘about me’ bit I just knew I’d like it! Awesome quilts. Wizard of oz one really stuck out to me. (we watched it today)
    Its great to find creative people!!!
    Great post 😀

    April 13, 2011 at 3:34 am

    • Hi, yagerbabies. So glad you did stop by. Wait till you see the quilt I’m making for my daughter with a fabric bundle I purchased at the quilt show. It’s so her!

      Yes, I do like being creative–everyday. I’m like you, I like stumbling across the creative blogs of others, too. It’s inspiring to look at what others are doing. Please, come back anytime.

      April 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  9. Jackie Paulson 1966

    My best friend makes hand made quilts. She is amazing, she has some on facebook. I loved your blog and found you from another one. I wish I had time to be creative. I admire your talents.

    April 17, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    • Thanks, Jackie! I wish I had MORE time to be creative! 🙂
      I think everyone has some creativity in some way. Whether it’s how we handle our family and raise our children, how we make it through school and hold down a job at the same time, or even how we figure out the best way to get through rush hour traffic without being involved in an accident. Buy some beads, get some elastic cord, string the beads in any order that’s pleasing to you, tie a knot, and…Bam! Instant bracelet and you just created something! I always find a way to get a quick fix somehow. You can, too!

      April 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

