Living creatively, love of photography, and passionate living.

Changing a photo.

Well, I hope everyone enjoyed their holiday weekend and was able to squeeze every moment of relaxation out of it they could.  I know I tried.  I ended up doing a lot of cooking.  Although, I didn’t barbecue even once over the past three days.  I just did a lot of indoor cooking instead.  I guess I was just in one of those moods. 

Anyway, I had planned on getting out and doing a lot of things with my camera.  However, I never seemed to be able to fit it in anywhere.  Then, on Sunday in the late afternoon, I was finally able to step outside and down the street to photograph one of the many downtown churches in our area.  I’m only going to show you one part of what I shot, because I am working on transforming it into something other than what I started with. 

The church is absolutely gorgeous on the inside, too.  Maybe I’ll be able to get inside one day and see if I can take some photos.  But for now, I wanted to focus on the outside.  When I got there, I saw that some repairs were being done and there were wooden railings and scaffolding up everywhere on the building.  So I zeroed in on the top.  There are a total of three domes on top, and I picked the one I could get the best view of at the time. 

Here is the original.  Actually, I shot it in RAW but always make my adjustments and then save it as a TIFF.  This is that TIFF after my initial adjustments.

You can see the scaffolding in the lower right corner.  I removed it and did some improvements with color and tone.

Then I couldn’t decide if I wanted to make it black and white, or just desaturate the color a little, so I played around and came up with this.

I liked it.  It reminds me of something out of an old school book.  But I never stop there when I have captured an image that I see so much potential in if I know I can play around even more and just work it out. 

I knew I wanted to see this as a night image.  And I knew I didn’t want the building to become a silhouette.  I wanted to be able to still see what a magnificent structure this is by keeping some of the lines and curves showing.  So, I knew moonlight would have to be included. 

This is what I’ve done on it so far.

I’m loving it so far!  I know I want to add some night creatures, but I don’t want to make it into something creepy.  I’ve begun to add an angel to it, though I know you can’t see that yet.  I won’t show that until I am completely done with it.  But I love what it’s becoming and I can’t wait to work some more on it! 

I’ll show you the completed work when I’m finished.  I just wanted to share with you one of my work’s in progress. 

See you next time!

11 responses

  1. This looks so great! Wish I was that good with photoshop 🙂

    May 31, 2011 at 6:09 am

  2. Oooo…ooo…how I wish I could send you a photograph (through comments) of some appliqué cloth church steeples and cupolas a friend of mine did for our guest room. Beautiful photographs. I wish I knew the many tricks you probably know.

    May 31, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    • Oh, that would be awesome! I bet they are just wonderful. I love church steeples and domes, etc. Churches, in general, are fascinating structures to me. I have been working on doing a series of these buildings. We have a lot of old churches here where I live, too.

      Thanks for your comment!

      June 1, 2011 at 2:51 am

  3. Really great work. I loved the way you played with the night pix and the ray of light sapping through a hole on the building top…kudos. You’re really challenging me. Keep it up

    June 1, 2011 at 5:37 am

    • Aw, that’s great that you feel challenged to want to do more yourself! It inspires me for you to say that to me. I think it’s really good when someone else can make you strive to do something different or a little more than you might normally do. We can get get stuck in a rut with ourselves and our work sometimes, but looking at what others do can make us see things a litlle different.

      I really appreciate your comments! Thanks.

      June 1, 2011 at 6:56 am

  4. Coooool!!!! I do love PhotoShop. It’s such a killer program.

    June 1, 2011 at 8:30 am

    • And, it’s so much fun to play around in, too!

      June 1, 2011 at 7:49 pm

  5. Hm. I’ve heard of people getting mooned… but buildings?? : )

    Seriously, tho, it looks fantastic. Love the moonlight. It looks completely natural and correct.

    I just put a hat on so I could tip it to you– well done!! : )

    June 2, 2011 at 7:54 am

    • Why, thank you kindly, sir! …and I just put an apron on so I could curtsy back at you! 🙂

      June 2, 2011 at 9:29 pm

  6. I love taking pictures of churches! I’m not religious, but I always go in churches in every city because the inside and out is always stunning. I’ve been in so many European churches it’s crazy! I love your Photoshopping!

    June 14, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    • Yes, I think churches are cool places to take pictures. I made a list of the ones just in my town alone that I want to photograph. Each one has it’s own uniqueness that makes it special. I’m sure the ones you have seen are spectacular!

      June 14, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

